Class of 64 reunion

class of 64 reunion

Those who  started  the  Dental  Course  in  1964  but  graduated  in  1968. By  Michael  Trenouth

Photo: left to right: Back row:  Paul  Johnson, Peter  Hilton, Michael  Trenouth, Barry  Pearson,  Bill  Morrison, Rob  Baxter, Gordon Abbotts. Middle:  Jenny  Baxter (Mason), Jayne  Regan (Noyes), Angela  Stanley (Jones), John  Trewella, Ros  Lomax (Crawshaw), Clare  Hale (Jackson). Front: Tony Hale.

The  Class  of  64  reunion  was  organised  by  Barry  Pearson  and   held  on  Wednesday  1st  May  2019  at  Billesley  Manor  Hotel  near  Stratford  on  Avon. 

The  historic  manor  was  mentioned  in  the  Doomsday  Book  and  it  was  here  that  Shakespeare  wrote  “As  you  like  it.” 

Those  of  us  who  arrived  during  the  afternoon  had  time  to  look  round  the  extensive  grounds  including  the  100  year  old  topiary  garden.  In  the  evening  drinks  in  the  bar  were  followed  by  an  excellent  meal. 

Although  it  was  55  years  since  we  started  out  as  students  together  the  group  bonded  as  if  it  was  only  yesterday.  We  had  a  lot  to  catch  up  on  and  compared  our  different  experiences  of  the  dental  profession. 

The  most  notable  change  was  the  dramatic  improvement  in  dental  health  we  had  all  witnessed  during  our  practicing  careers.  We  all  agreed  that  dentistry  was  both  difficult  and  stressful  and  were  probably  all  glad  we  had  retired  except  for  John  Trewella  who  was  still  working  away  at  the  tooth  face! 

This  fact  has  been  put  into  even  greater  perspective  by  the  corona virus  pandemic  something  which  at  the  time  would  have  been  totally  inconceivable.  We  also  acknowledged  the  sound  advice  of  the  then  Dean  Professor  Horris  Radden,  an  Australian  gentleman  with  a  very  forceful  personality,   who  said  that  dentistry  required  application!

The  following  were  unable  to  attend;  Dave  Ashton,  Dave  Atkinson,  Liz  Berger (Marshall),  Don  Bidwell,  Anjan  Dass,  Dennis  Earle,  Sue  Gilkison (Taylor),  Dipi  Marcanday,  Sid  Marko,  Pete  Marsden,  Jerry  Podesta,  Ray  Walsh.

Unfortunately   we  were  unable  to   contact  the  following  and  would  be  pleased  to  hear  from  them  so  that  they  could  attend  future  events;  Dave  Barrett,  Leo  Klein,  Monty  Miller, Gill  Morgan  (Taylor),  Dave  Priess,  John  Whitbread.  The  contact  e-mail  for  Barry  Pearson  is:

Sadly  the  following  were  deceased  but  fondly  remembered;  Maurice  Brohn,  Martin  Lomax,  Denis  Regan,  Ann  Worthington (Smith),  Bill  Worthington.      

Why join Somanda?

Become a member

© 2023 Somanda. Terms